An Aspiring Writer's Blog Site

… And Away She Goes

Bull SharkToday, for the first time in twelve years, I submitted a short story to a magazine.

The story is called Pool Sharks. I wrote it about ten years ago. It was based upon a dream I had about a swimming pool full of sharks. I thought the story was pretty good, but admittedly, it wasn’t my normal genre (dark fantasy). I had some people look at it, they made their comments, and it just kind of sat around for a decade.

I’m not really sure why I didn’t do anything with it. Of course, I had about four or five other short stories that hadn’t gone anywhere either (a few had been rejected by some magazines).

Anyway . . . I picked this one back up about four or five months ago, still thought it was good, dusted it off a little, and sent it out for some feedback. Most everyone harped on the ending. I changed it up a bit, resent it out for another look over and bingo. People liked what they read.

Now its on its way to Tales of the Talisman. I think it would fit in well with this particular magazine, but we’ll see.

WIP Update: I hate to say it, but between life getting in the way and me being unfocused, I haven’t done ANY work on the Gideon Plan. I’m hoping to get my arse back in gear soon. I don’t really have much in the way of excuses. I’m just not doing it.

P.S. Oh yes, one more thing–A shout out to Bare Knuckle Writer who just wrote about how to acquire rejection letters, something I may have to reread when this story comes back with REJECT written on it. Knuckles writes with a hilarious in-your-face style. I really dig her posts.

7 responses

  1. Yay! Good for you for sending in your short story in to a magazine. It sounds interesting. 🙂

    And we all go through unproductive phases – it just happens. Hope things go well with The Gideon Plan.

    January 17, 2013 at 2:39 pm

    • Thanks, Sara. As soon as I hear back from the mag, I’ll post.

      I really hate times when I’m not being productive with the novel. For me, I get in my head that its just a sign of laziness or ill-discipline.

      January 17, 2013 at 3:07 pm

      • Awesome, I really hope they publish it! Yeah, I’ve had my share of ill-discipline recently. It hits us all at some point. Good thing it’s still early in the year.

        January 17, 2013 at 4:07 pm

  2. Hey Dan! Digging at old stories, and finding worthwhile pursuits…that’s awesome. I hope something comes of it; something more than a rejection letter, but hey if that’s what you get, it’s still on to add to the pile. We are all going to get a bunch of them as time goes on. Good on you for sending out an older work, that’s confidence. I’d have to do major overhauls of stuff I did even early last year let alone something a decade old. Good luck Buddy!

    January 17, 2013 at 8:03 pm

    • Thanks, Nate. I plan to post once I hear back from the mag.

      January 17, 2013 at 9:58 pm

  3. Congrats on getting back on that horse. And don’t let a small lapse on the WIP discourage you. You don’t want it to win, do you?

    January 18, 2013 at 9:04 am

Leave a Reply

