An Aspiring Writer's Blog Site

Does Blogging Time Count as Writing Time?

I’ve seen this question kicked around a few times during the last year. I thought I’d get on my e-soap box and belt out some of my thoughts on the subject.

As some already know, I don’t keep a word tally. I judge my progress by milestones and if my goals are reached or not, so the question of “does my blogging posts count as part of my word count” does not really apply to my philosophy.

When I think of the writing process, I think of it as a whole. Its not just about the words we put down on the page, its a host of other things: finding inspiration, studying our craft, researching publishers and agents, thinking time, organizing our our files, etc., etc.

One thing I feel that goes into this list of essentials is networking. For me, this is where blogging fits nicely.

Blogging is my support group. Its where I can go out and share my doubts and triumphs and offer words of encouragement to others. Its also where I can learn from other’s mistakes and get good advice and insight. This is why I consider it part of “writing time.”

So, here’s to all my fellow bloggers out there.  You are an important part of my writing process. Thanks for what you do and keep blogging!

WIP Update: I have sent another short story out for folks to critique and am close to having another short story ready to be sent out to a magazine. The Gideon Plan is moving slower. I need to get my butt in gear on that front.

4 responses

  1. I actually did count my words for a while, and it was a good way to keep motivated. However, I came to realize that writing involves more than just words flung at a screen. Story building, learning how to craft interesting characters, finding my genre, even reading, all seem to contribute to my growth as a writer.
    Blogging is great for that as well– sharing my words, editing them for public consumption, and exchanging thoughts with other writers has been a great way to make and measure progress.
    Good luck with the submission on your short story!

    January 13, 2013 at 6:42 pm

    • Yes. I agree with all of this. The blogging is just a part of the whole thing.

      January 16, 2013 at 8:38 am

  2. Hey Dan. I’d say blogging is most definitely writing time. You’re building your sentence and structure skills up with each post. You’re often thinking deeply about subject matter and laying out your thoughts. And like you said, the blog is a great soapbox from which to communicate with other writers.

    That being said, I think it’s just a part of a fully fledged ‘writing workout regimen.’ I think if someone is looking to specifically improve their storytelling skills, it’s not the most proficient way of doing it. That takes specific focus and time spent studying and writing stories themselves.

    Of course, this is a newbie talking here, so take it all with a grain of salt. But that’s what I feel I’ve learned during my apprenticeship so far.

    January 13, 2013 at 9:10 pm

Leave a Reply

