An Aspiring Writer's Blog Site

I, the undersigned, resolve to . . .

new-years-resolution-be-more-awesomeMy New Year’s Writing Goals. Attainable, me thinks. Sorry I’m a few days late . . .

Education & Networking
• Become member of the Florida Writer’s Association
• Attend Florida Writer’s Association Conference in October
• Attend 9 of the local writers club meetings.
• Read 10 novels and write a short synopsis of what I learned.
• Blog once a week

Writing
• Finish rough draft of The Gideon Plan.
• Write two new short stories or resurrect two old ones.

Publishing
• Publish one short story or receive 10 rejection letters trying.

How about you guys? What are your writing goals?

16 responses

  1. I’ve been thinking about joining my local writer’s association as well. You never know what will come out of those things.

    Best of luck in all your resolutions. You seem a man of action, so I have no doubt you’ll achieve them!

    January 3, 2013 at 11:29 am

    • Thanks, Phil! The jury is still out on if anything will come out of the writer’s club, but I figure its a good start. I’ve been to a couple of meetings so far and I think its a worthy investment of my time.

      January 3, 2013 at 5:02 pm

  2. A little hasty on the “Post Comment” button… Would you kindly add a ‘no’ in between ‘have’ and ‘doubt’? 🙂

    January 3, 2013 at 11:30 am

  3. Edit my third book, Frozen, and then hopefully publish it mid-year. Then get back to the second work, Followed.

    January 3, 2013 at 11:31 am

    • Cool. Your self pub-ing correct? I may have to hit you up with some ideas when I’m ready for mine. Not for several more years unfortunately . . .

      January 3, 2013 at 5:03 pm

      • Yes, always self-pubbing, unless an agent falls from the sky and lands in front of me. haha. Sure, definitely let me know when you are ready to self publish. Maybe it will happen sooner than later! 🙂

        January 4, 2013 at 12:09 am

  4. Whoops hit reply too soon lol. Also, all the best with your writing goals. That is a good list!

    January 3, 2013 at 11:32 am

  5. catherinelumb

    ” Publish one short story or receive 10 rejection letters trying”

    A very admirable, yet realistic, approach. I totally approve. My writing goals are simply to complete my NaNo #2 and start editing both that and NaNo #1 from last year.

    Oh, and write some short stories for some competitions and see if anything comes of it. I think I’ll keep your Publishing aim in my mind for that – very pragmatic.

    Good luck (not that you’ll need it, but I offer it just the same!) – I’ll return to read your blog posts every week, or chastise you if they start to go missing. ;o)

    Take Care
    Cat

    January 3, 2013 at 12:22 pm

    • Yes, please feel free to chastise. I’ve been pretty good about publishing once a week for some time now. It seems to work well for me. Good luck with your goals!

      January 3, 2013 at 5:04 pm

  6. Well done Dan. I like the way you put together an admirable set of goals, and contingent ones just in case; its a good set up that leaves room for the whim of the market. I like your style.

    I wish you the best!

    January 3, 2013 at 7:17 pm

    • Thanks, Nate. With guys like you around, I know I’ll have encouragement!

      January 4, 2013 at 9:41 am

  7. I really like how you’ve made your goals very specific and achievable. I’d given up on goals entirely because things like ‘finish my revision’ always seemed a little fuzzy to me: How exactly do I know when it is done?!
    I’ll be looking forward to your weekly posts. I enjoy reading about your progress!

    January 3, 2013 at 7:58 pm

    • Thanks for swinging by, Kirsten.

      Ah. Revisions. Yeah. They could go on forever, eh? You know, I use a lot of my video game experience when I write. There’s a lot of cross over. This is another instance of it.

      I don’t think I’ve ever worked on a game where there isn’t just one more thing you can change or add to make it better. But after awhile, we just had to say, enough is enough. The thing had to go out and we just applied our enthusiasm (and experience!) to the next game. That’s the mentality that I’ve taken and it seems to have helped me with letting go.

      January 4, 2013 at 9:53 am

  8. Good luck with your writing goals. I am (hopefully) going to self-publish this novel I wrote. I think now is the time.
    –JW

    January 5, 2013 at 1:58 am

    • Thanks for swinging by jumbled! I wish you the best of luck with publishing your story. Someday I’ll get there myself. 🙂

      January 5, 2013 at 9:11 am

Leave a Reply

