An Aspiring Writer's Blog Site

Defrosting Han Solo

Four months ago, I made the difficult decision of putting my much beloved story the Gideon Plan in suspended animation.

I felt like I was doing the story an injustice by trying to do something so large in scope when I was not ready. I decided to start out small, write some short stories and then work on something a little bigger—novella sized maybe.

Over the last four months, I wrote five short stories, which I am pleased with. Then I got stuck. I didn’t want to write short stories anymore. I wanted something larger. I thought about going back to Sphinx, which was scoped for about 40-50,000 words, but I couldn’t get into it. The result: I’ve written very little over the last 45 days and I am frustrating myself.

All this while, my mind has kept wandering back to the Gideon Plan. I kept telling myself the same thing—it’s too big! It’s too over scoped! It has no chance of getting published because you won’t do it right! It’s going to take you years to complete!

But, you know what? It’s the only thing I really want to write about right now.

So, maybe it’s stupid of me, but I’m going back to it . . . and you know what? I’m pretty damned excited about it.

Defrosting time . . .

11 responses

  1. I don’t think it’s dumb. Personally I wouldn’t stress the whole “getting it published” thing anyway, but you know my opinions on that 🙂 Trust your insticts. They are telling you to write the other, write the other. Usually listening to that small voice (or loud, which ever it happens to be at the moment) is the way to go.

    November 16, 2012 at 1:19 pm

    • I don’t want to stress the publishing thing either, Drew. I’d certainly would like people to read it when its all done, though. Thanks for swinging by.

      November 16, 2012 at 2:06 pm

      • Any time buddy. Always glad to read your posts. They sometimes prompt me to write more. I think my poor blog gets neglected 🙂

        November 16, 2012 at 2:24 pm

  2. Glad to see you going back to it. I wish you the best in the project. Take care and keep letting us know how it is going. I know I haven’t been around here as much lately but the fact that my own writing had dried up and that I’m starting my new job, it has been hard to bring myself here as often as I would like. I’ll pop in again when I can.

    November 16, 2012 at 7:15 pm

    • Ah yes. The bank job, right? Well, in this day in age, its good that you have a job. I tried to get on with a bank, but no dough (pun sorta intended). Just keep that desire in your heart, Nate, and when things cool off, you’ll get back to it. We’ll be watching!

      November 16, 2012 at 7:57 pm

  3. Dan, I write about creativity often, and one of the core ideas unearthed by the research is that many writers keep going even if they don’t get published. It’s what they love, so they do it. Trust your instincts. If you consciously think the book is too big for you, then it’s time to learn how to handle big books. If you have the urge to write that big book in spite of your conscious objections, then maybe your unconscious is trying to tell you, “We can work this out.” Give it a chance.

    November 17, 2012 at 6:50 pm

    • Sounds like good advice, Thomas. I appreciate that. I also appreciate the words of encouragement. It means a lot to know that there are people out there who care. Brings tear to my eye (*sniff!*). I’m usually pretty good with reigning in my thoughts, but this one just got more involved. Thankfully, its pretty well organized and thought out. Still, a lot of work, though. Thanks for swinging by.

      November 18, 2012 at 10:29 pm

  4. Sounds like you will be going on a exciting, creative journey with this story! Why write anything else if your heart is not in it? I sometimes wonder what it would be like to write a story that isn’t so complex and epic and then I realise that’s not the story I’m meant to write right now. Best of luck and I look forward to reading about your progress 🙂

    November 25, 2012 at 7:26 am

    • Yeah. I need to remember that. Got to write something that my heart’s into. I can get a little too cerebral about things too much sometimes. Thanks for swinging by.

      November 25, 2012 at 9:07 pm

  5. Write what you love. 🙂 I would say you are making a good decision.

    November 26, 2012 at 1:15 pm

    • Yeah, I think this is my best bet. Just having a good time doing what I love to do.

      November 26, 2012 at 3:36 pm

Leave a Reply

