An Aspiring Writer's Blog Site

Metamorphosis of a Story- Part Six

Beta

Funny, I didn’t know stories had a Beta until about two years ago when I was reading other writers talking about their stories going into a Beta. I come from the Video Game industry, where Beta means game is content complete, basically finished, but has a few minor bugs. So, I was like “What? You got bugs in your manuscript?”

So, what is Beta for a story? It’s actually not unlike a video game. The story is finished, but, there may be a few minor things wrong with it—grammar, syntax, missing comma, etc. All content is there. All major things have been taken care of. You are essentially looking over it with a fine tooth comb.

HOWEVER, the problem with me calling it Beta is that. . . well . . . I am calling it Beta. In other words, not a publisher, or rather, someone who would pay me for the completed work. That means, when I send the story out into the cruel world, the publisher may request changes. Some may be major. And what the publisher wants, the publisher gets. Its the golden rule, right? He who has the gold makes the rules? So, the story may go through another Beta depending on publisher feedback, if any.

At this point, I’m looking for Beta Readers: people to look the story over—see if you spot any minor mistakes. I’m not looking for any content changes.

Once I get the feedback, I’ll make the changes and I’ll post again when I send the story along its merry way to a magazine.

If ya want to take a gander at it, you’ll find it here. If you decide to give me feedback, you’ll have my undying gratitude (which lasts until, well, when I die, I guess. Or of course, if I forget, which could be possible).

6 responses

  1. Phillip McCollum

    Hey Dan. I’d be happy to read this and provide some feedback. I’ll print it out and take it with me to Philly. Do you have a deadline for finishing your edits?

    October 12, 2012 at 12:16 pm

    • danbracewell

      Thanks, Phillip! I’d say in the next week or so. That work for you?

      October 12, 2012 at 12:29 pm

      • Phillip McCollum

        Yeah, no problem. I’ll read it on the plane and mark it up on Wednesday. I should have time to type up the feedback and email it out Thursday/Friday.

        October 12, 2012 at 12:38 pm

      • danbracewell

        Cool. Thanks, Phillip!

        October 12, 2012 at 2:21 pm

  2. Hey Dan, do you have a preferred email address I can send you feedback to? Also, in the future, you may look at putting your stuff up on Google Drive and password protect it. It has a convenient in-line comment system to better align the feedback and point out specific things.

    October 19, 2012 at 6:49 pm

Leave a Reply

