An Aspiring Writer's Blog Site

What is your Motivation for Writing?

This was one of those weeks where I just felt like I couldn’t do it anymore.

A million doubts ran through my head: its too long (500 pages at least)! Its got too many POV characters (six!)! I have to research the five years of the Civil War in detail! Its plot is much more complicated than anything I’ve ever done before!

I told myself, its not too unlike creating a video game. What would I say to someone who had little to no experience making games and they came up and told me they wanted to make the next Call of Duty? I’d just pat them on the head and try not to laugh. It just isn’t done.

After feeling a little sorry for myself, I took a deep breath and asked myself—why are you writing this story in the first place? Really?

The God’s honest truth: its because I love it. I’m having a blast. Despite the occasional valleys, most of the time I am on a peak. My motivation isn’t money. It isn’t fame. I have no intention of being the next George R. R. Martin. For me, the adventure is in the writing itself. I just like to do it. So, I’m now going to go back to this impossibly huge story where I am way over my head and continue to enjoy myself.

How about you? What’s your motivation for writing? Ever get down in the dumps and feel like you just can’t do it?

This week’s story sample from the Gideon Plan: Fort McHenry.

Here’ a little punk for your steam. The Gideon team infiltrates Fort McHenry to rescue some members of a blockade runner. This is the first chapter in the book that really features the story’s tech side. You’ll see this is not your ordinary gears and goggles type of steampunk. I think it has more of a realistic feel to it, personally. Thoughts are welcome.

6 responses

  1. Cat

    It’s great to hear that other people have days of ultimate self-doubt and still pull themselves through it! Well done for squaring up to those demons and just plain sticking out your tongue and saying; ‘well, I’m just going to carry on doing it anyway!’
    It will come, with time. You’ll write the story, do the research and then the onerous task of editing will make it sharper and more focused. And all because you love it. And maybe if you can do it, then so can I: Great stuff.
    Cat

    July 24, 2012 at 6:34 am

  2. heh, sticking your tongue out . . . that’s awesome. Thanks, Cat! I appreciate the encouragement!

    July 24, 2012 at 2:10 pm

  3. Dan, just realized you live in St. Augustine. I spent several weeks down there some months ago while on the job. Great town! and tons of history. Perfect place for you 🙂 As far as motivation goes, I’m currently unemployed. Love of writing keeps me going, and so does the hope of a paycheck. 😀 Great post.

    July 27, 2012 at 10:48 pm

    • oh cool. Where do you live now? By the way, I was trying to follow your blog but couldn’t find the follow button. Do you have it activated?

      July 28, 2012 at 1:26 am

      • I live in Charlotte now. I used to travel for work, so I’ve been all over the US. I didn’t have the “follow” widget active, it is now 🙂 I wonder how everyone else is able to follow me though… I think at the top of your screen (if you’re logged into wordpress) there should be a way.

        July 28, 2012 at 12:40 pm

      • Awesome. Done deal.

        July 28, 2012 at 12:42 pm

Leave a Reply

