An Aspiring Writer's Blog Site

A Mountain to Be Conquered


“Valor in Gray” by Mort Kunstler



Writer’s Diary, June 19, 2012

Back in the day, when I worked in the game industry, I would need to get estimates from the team on how long it would take to finish a certain part of the game. The least experienced ones were always off (often by a mile). It was always a little unsettling to hear the actual number. Well, my inexperience with writing has raised its ugly head. To date, I have around 170 pages written. I thought this represented about 60% of the story. After doing some number crunching, it turns out I have close to 270 pages left to write (note to self—does NOT equal 40%)! This novel is a lot bigger than I thought it was going to be. Time to roll up the sleeves and get to work.

This last week, I was going back and organizing what I have written and researched so far—putting my scenes in order, combining scenes, determining what was left, making estimates and crunching numbers, etc. I also researched Lee’s retreat from Gettysburg. This is the turning point in the novel when things start to go bad for my main characters. Sadly, I’m not quite getting the ideas that I wanted from it. No worries, I’ll figure it out.

After a week of preparing for the next draft, here are a few short, medium, and long range goals I’ve created for myself (all high level):

  • Write five pages a week
  • 25% of draft written by September 18, 2012
  • 50% of draft written by December 11, 2012
  • 75% of draft written by March 12, 2013
  • First draft finished June 4, 2013

I love goals. I always feel like I’m moving forward when I hit them. For my writer friends out there– what type of goals do you shoot for when you write? Are any of these goals based off any type of data or numbers?

Leave a Reply

