An Aspiring Writer's Blog Site

Rough Draft for “The Gideon Plan” is Ahead of Schedule

I’m ahead of schedule for the rough drat of my novel The Gideon Plan. I’ve been feeling it all this week. I have an uncontrollable urge to start linking my bursts together and finishing the story! I have about 50 more pages to write before the rough draft is finished. That’s great news and it actually surprised me I was that far ahead. If I write 10 pages a week, I’ll be done in 5 weeks. If I do 5 a week, it will be ten weeks. This puts me anywhere between one to two months ahead of schedule all things depending.

For those who have been following my writing journal, you know I’ve had a goal of five pages a week. Lately, I’ve been hitting @ 10 or more. This has put me ahead of schedule. This week, I had over eight. Not bad. I was worried I wouldn’t get that much in because I had the kids most of the week for spring break. There’s always life’s obstacles to get in the way. Speaking of which, I’m moving in 28 days. That may put a crink in my writing. I sure hope not (but it probably will).

Here’s something to share. I have been keeping track of my scenes (remember I write in bursts, so they can be all over) and today I placed them in the order of appearance. Looks like I have been neglecting the second half of my story! Not surprising. I did this for Bronze Raiders as well and in the past, I have a tendency to stumble on the end of any story I write. If I concentrate on the second half for the next 5-10 weeks, I’ll be in good shape for a rough draft.

How about my writing friends out there? Is there any part of the story that you have difficulty writing? Which part and why do you think that’s so?

One more thing, I finally nailed my Rose character. Turns out she is the daughter of a former South Carolina Senator, a fire-eating secessionist. She lives a double life. On the outside, she is the paragon of a southern belle, committed to the south and for what it stands for, but in secret she is a defender of the rights of slaves. Should make for some interesting conflict. Her burst is here.

2 responses

  1. Cat

    I admire how productive you are: as you’ll be aware my most difficult section is the final part of my novel – but recently I’ve reconsidered the plan I originally had and hopefully now I can return to writing it after the story-fest of May!
    Good luck with the second section…it’s always nice to read about a fellow writer succeeding in the challenge to complete the novel.

    May 31, 2012 at 5:43 pm

  2. Thanks for stopping my Cat and thanks for the encouragement. I’m very close to the story being Rough Draft ready–maybe two more weeks I think? Second part of the story is still more spotty than I think it should be, buts its getting fuller and coming together nicely. I’m very pleased over all. My only real complaint is I wish I had more time to write. Life is so busy . . .

    June 4, 2012 at 1:00 pm

Leave a Reply

