An Aspiring Writer's Blog Site

Sphinx- Part 6

I thought I’d give an update on the story’s status. A lot has been on my mind over the last week or so regarding the story. I’ve been researching, brainstorming, looking for inspiration etc. Things are starting to come into picture. Other things are more blurry.

Here are some items that I am leaning heavily towards:

  • The story takes place before the unification of Egypt (probably about 100 years before. Maybe earlier, I’m still deciding).
  • The story takes place before the traditional Egyptian pantheon has been established. At this time, people worship their ancestors (who are becoming more and more god-like over the years).
  • The protagonist is the archetype for the Egyptian goddess of Destruction, Sekhmet (as well as the Sphinx). She is a very dangerous person (how to make her both convincing, sympathetic, and not the typical womanly bad ass is a bit of a challenge).
  • The archetypes for both Set and Horus are main characters in the story. I am strongly leaning towards Set as being the antagonist (another possibility is the legendary figure “Scorpion”).
  • The story takes place over about 50 years. The protagonist sees several generations come and go.
  • The creature that posses the protagonist was born from the rare combination of a lioness dying during a sandstorm on the day of the summer solstice. It is a demon.
  • The protagonist is a mystical slave. Her powers are used for the betterment of the chieftain who is her master.
  • The protagonist slowly learns her powers over the course of the story. She is a creature of the desert, the sun, and a lioness. She controls flame and light, demons who spread disease, sand, desert storms, and can shape-shift (into a man, woman, and lioness). She’s also stronger than most people. She does not sleep and has no need for food.
  • The protagonist is vulnerable to water. It can kill her (or control her depending on how it is used). I picked water because it seems to be the opposite of many of the protagonist’s powers 1. It extinguishes flame, 2. Cuts through the desert and makes it lush, 3. Lions do not like water. Another reason to pick water is because in the legend of Sekhmet her destruction is stopped when she drinks from the river Nile. Probably the most important reason I picked water though is because I simply need some type of kryptonite for Superman (or Supergirl, whatever).

I have a thin outline. My biggest problem right now is deciding the course of events. I would like to keep it true to the legends and historical data available to us regarding Egypt’s pre-dynastic period (they don’t always match up with my story ideas). My next post should be a more solid outline. From that I’ll start on the rough draft of the story.

4 responses

  1. Greetings,
    I’m not sure if I left a message before this, I found you in my pages comment section. Your story sounds original and very well thought out. I have some recommendations. For help building believable characters check out, 45 Master Characters and how to build them, by Victoria Lynn Schmidt. She will go through them all and help you build a three dimensional character. For plot development I found a fabulous book, actually two, The Writer’s Journey, mythic structure for writers, by Christopher Vogler, and 20 Master Plots and how to build them, by Ronald B. Tobias. There are many other great books too and I can add more if you like.

    You are writing a work of fiction so you don’t have to follow historical events to the letter. If it troubles you just put a note in your title page.

    Are you a member of a writer’s community? If not, find one and join a critique group. Their expertise will be invaluable.

    Finally, before you publish, hire an editor. So many Indie authors aren’t doing this and it shows in their work. After 16 years in a critique group, a member of a writing organization, I have attended numerous workshops, classes and conferences, I still was surprised by the corrections a professional editor applied to my work.

    I hope all that helps.
    Nancy
    N. R. Williams, The Treasures of Carmelidrium

    May 19, 2011 at 6:36 pm

    • Hi, Nancy!
      Thanks for being the first person to comment on my blog! If only I had a prize to give you. 🙂 Thanks for those book recommendations. I’ll check them out.

      The story isn’t historically accurate at all, but I want it to hold some type of semblance to Egyptian legends and myths, otherwise why even put it in Egypt? Sometimes I worry that its not Egyptian enough. Thats a good idea about a note, though. Someone recommended that for my other story, Bronze Raiders, which also is not historically accurate. I’m definitely going to do that.

      I belong to an online crit group called Critters. They are great! However, I plan on joining the local writer’s group in St. Augustine when I move there in a month.

      Yep, defintely going to hire an editor. I already have an editor friend who said she or someone else she knows would edit Bronze Raiders when its ready (which it is–yaaay!). Do you know how long that process takes and how much it costs? I’ve been saving up for it.

      I really appreciate you stopping by!

      -Dan

      May 20, 2011 at 12:05 pm

  2. Cat

    After your wonderfully encouraging comments on my own blog I thought I’d come and check out what you are up to: exciting stuff I see! Not least because I did my degree in Egyptology and my final dissertation on the pre-dynastic period, which is my favourite era in Egyptian History because that is where it all began…So I am very interested to see where this particular project will end up.

    It’s sounding good so far, the concept is intriguing and it’s captured my interest (and I’m not usually a fan of this genre). I’ll be checking in to see how it’s coming along…

    Take Care,
    Cat

    March 23, 2012 at 9:49 am

    • Thanks, Cat!

      This happens to be a story where I hit writer’s block. I was having some plot and logic problems (probably over thinking it). So I went to work on another idea–that’s the Gideon Plan story that is floating around on the blog. I want to get back to this one sometime, though (I often think of it). I think it could be a very sexy story and I really want to write something with a woman as the central character.

      Pre-dynastic Egypt, eh? Wow, I need to hit you up for ideas!

      Thanks for stopping by!

      March 23, 2012 at 9:56 am

Leave a Reply

