An Aspiring Writer's Blog Site

All About Me

So, here I am. I kind of hate writing about myself–probably because once I start, I may not be able to stop.

I’m a native Floridian (there aren’t many of us left). I grew up in Crystal River, but have also lived in Pensacola, Tallahassee, and Orlando. I now live in St. Augustine, the nation’s oldest city.  I have a wife and two beautiful daughters. I’m a huge history buff. I have a BA in history from the University of West Florida (go Conchs!) and worked in history museums for eight years. I love history so much, I married an archaeologist. I’ve had a full life. I’ve been a missionary, an exchange student, an education supervisor, a ghost tour guide, and a video game developer. I look forward to seeing what life throws at me next.

In my spare time I like to write (I’m working on two novels–check out Bronze Raiders and The Gideon Plan in this Blog), read,  cook, and travel.

Thanks for checking out my blog. If you like what you see, leave a comment and click on the “Follow Me” Button at the top right. I post regularly–so be sure to come back and check out what I’ve been up to!

9 responses

  1. So, after reading a couple pages I figured I’d learn a little about you. Game designer huh? What kind of games?

    July 16, 2012 at 10:04 pm

    • Hey, Codex. I was the project manager for Star Wars: Battlefront Elite Squadron, and James Bond: Bloodstone, and Goldeneye–all for the Nintendo DS. I was also the producer for Wizard Ops, a mobile phone game. I also have a credit in Tiger Woods PGA Golf 08 PS2 and PSP. The video game development process has had a huge impact on my writing process.

      July 17, 2012 at 12:52 am

      • I have to say thats really cool. I’ve never met a game programmer before but I can tell you it was always another dream of mine to be one…but I can also tell you it is something that is meant to be only a dream, I couldn’t actually do it, no patience for that kind of level of detail and computer skills. Maybe some day a book of mine will be chosen to be a video game and they’ll ask for my assistance on scripting it…that’ll have to be close enough.

        July 17, 2012 at 5:44 am

      • Heh. Actually, I wasn’t a programmer. That’s a bit of a common misconception about video game developers. There’s many different types of people who participate in the development of a game with many different types of skills: programmers, artists, designers, sound and music engineers, etc. Then there’s the people who have to coordinate them all and make sure they are doing what they should be doing and doing it well. That’s what a project manager does.

        A book turned into a video game would be great! A movie and a mini series would be even cooler!

        July 17, 2012 at 11:24 am

      • Sorry, large but easy error.

        July 17, 2012 at 12:24 pm

  2. Kathy Bracewell

    Hi Dan! Great to “see” you!

    August 3, 2013 at 10:46 am

  3. Love your blog. And the concept of virtual living museums is brilliant. So much knowledge out there and although words are one of my loves, nothing like visual to capture people’s imagination.

    I am also a giant history buff, and the fact that you specialize in Mesopotamia is even cooler. BTW I am also in about my 5th incarnation, and am currently a project manager. Would love to hear more about what you are up to.

    Regards

    Mary Rose

    May 27, 2015 at 4:44 pm

    • Hi, Mary Rose. That is pretty wild. I’m also in the project management realm. I’m a project coordinator for a software development company in North Palm Beach. I just got my scrum master certification.

      I haven’t written in awhile and I don’t know when I will get to it. I miss it. Hopefully someday.

      Thank you for dropping by, nice to know there are other history buff-project managers out there.

      May 29, 2015 at 8:48 pm

Leave a Reply

